Different Admin Roles provide different access points to the Admin Portal. For a description of each of the Admin Roles, please refer to Q: What do the different Admin Roles really mean?.

 

Here are a few things that you can do with the Admin Roles:

 

Assigning Admin Roles

Role Limitations

Limiting Content Management

Filtering USERS list by Admin Roles(s)

 

 

Assigning Admin Roles

To assign different roles to your end users, you must have User Administrator access. To confirm access, you will see the Users tab in the Admin Portal.

 

 

  1. Find the user in question and click on the user's First Name.
  2. From the ROLES tab, check the roles you want to assign to the user.
  3. Click SAVE CHANGES from the Action Bar.

 

Et Voila!

 

NOTE: You can remove Admin access the same way by un-checking the roles.

 

Role Limitations

Admin access can be limited to specific Groups | System Groups, restricting which end users the Admin can manage. Depending on the assigned Roles (see above), these limitations impact User Journeys, Communications, visible Users, visible Groups, etc.


Note : Once assigned, Role Limitations will work immediately, however, Dashboards will not be fully functional for up to 24 hours

 

  1. Assign Role (see above)
  2. From Limitation Type pull down select Group

 

 

  1. In Limit To section use type assist or click Browse to find the desired selection(s)
    1. Type assist – enter a minimum of three (3) characters to be presented with options matching what you typed
    2. Browse – find and select the desired Group or System Group

 

 

  1. Click SAVE CHANGES from the Action Bar

 

Note: Admins that are limited by Group are not able to change Global settings


Limiting Content Management

Admin access to content can be set to be limited. This prevents these “Limited” Content Admins from editing content that is not their own. This will restrict these Admin while still providing the ability to allow them to edit and publish content they have originally created.

  1. Assign a role that can manage any Content (see above) (e.g.: Skill Paths, Communications, Assets, Events)
  2. Check the box next to Limitation Content Management Rights

 

 

  1. Click SAVE CHANGES from the Action Bar

 

 

This limitation will restrict Admins from editing, deleting, publishing and unpublishing any content that they did not create. 

A few things to note regarding Admins with this setting:

  1. They will be able to assign all content to users, regardless of who created it (As long as the Admin role(s) assigned to them give them permission to do so) 
  2. They will still be able to place their content under a Category and/or a Topic that they did not create 
  3. They will not be able to change, publish or move a Category and/or a Topic if they did not create it. 
  4. They will not be able to remove another Admin’s content if it is organized within a Topic or category that they created. 
  5. They will not be able to add a course to a Skill Path that they did not create; nor they can add a Skill Path to a User Journey that they did not create 
  6. They can duplicate and then rename an existing Skill Path to be considered created by them
  7. They cannot rearrange (move up or down) Topics and/or Categories

 

Filtering USERS list by Admin Role(s)

You can easily filter your User list in the Admin Portal to list only those users with Admin Roles assigned.

  1. Click on the USERS tab in the Admin Portal.



  2. Click on the Filter icon at the top-right of your user list.
  3. Click to Expand the Admin Roles list.



  4. Click any (or all) Admin Roles to view users with the selected role(s) assigned.
  5. Click Apply.

Your user list will now only show users with the selected role(s).

 

NOTE: To revert to the full user list, click the Filter icon again and click Reset All.